Friday Favorites!

Hello again! I know… long time, no see. This summer has been absolute chaos for our little family and I feel like I’m almost ready for winter so I’m subjected to not ever leaving my home unless I have to. Don’t get me wrong, I love being busy and doing fun things, but wow, I’m ready for a break!

So far we’ve…

Traveled: to northern Indiana, Chicago, and heading to Pittsburgh in the near future.

Improved: Our house. Painted our doors and shutters, cleaned out our living spaces.

Worked: so hard at work, traveling to various towns across the state. School started back up for my husband.

Ran: a 5 mile race and placed!

Ate: Too many good meals to count. Grilled insane amounts of chicken.

Walked: over 10,000 steps per day for 3 months except for 3 days (my work has a step competition going on!)

Cheered on: The Braves at Wrigley field, and the Indians in Indianapolis.

And yet, I’m not ready for this crazy heat to end. Something about the summer sun just makes my heart happy. Okay enough summer recap. I thought I would kick off the long weekend with some of my favorite things I’ve found on the web or things I enjoy. Enjoy and have a wonderful long, labor day weekend and soak up the last bit of summer for me!

What’s Hot Now: 7 New Kitchen Trends I love my kitchen and its bright open space, but when I look at these dreamy kitchens, I want to start breaking down walls.

8 Ways to be Productive When You Feel Like You Have No Time. Yes. I needed to read this. The walking tip is something I need to keep doing in the winter months.

Honey Sriracha Chex Mix. I made this a couple weeks ago and realized I will be making this for all of our future football game day needs. I omitted the pretzels because I didn’t have any on hand and it still turned out fabulous.

Honey-Sriracha Chex™ Mix

Playing Kickball. I signed up for an adult rec league in our local town about a year ago and it was probably the best decision I’ve made in a while. The people are great, I’m active on a weeknight, and I get to kick some balls!

Pasta without Dairy in it. It must be a Christmas miracle! You have NO idea how much dairy is in everything until you are married to a man who can’t eat dairy. It’s shocking. These look delicious and I will definitely try some as the temperature drops.

18 Fitness Myths That Need to be Stopped. Could not agree more with a lot of these statements. Fitness is not one note, neither is nutrition. Most importantly, it matters what is going on on the inside (like cholesterol, glucose, A1c, etc.) The number on the scale doesn’t define you. What defines you is your entire health journey- not one diet – not one exercise.

Happy Friday everyone! Have a great weekend!

What have you been up to this summer?!

Leave a Reply

